Street Stocks

Barnewall & Shore Do It Again In Esperance

Kalgoorlie pairing Jack Barnewall & Dean Shore have once again won the annual Street Stock 20/20 Challenge held at the McD Contracting Esperance Speedway.

Local brothers Hamish & Josh Macalpine stormed home to finish second with another Kalgoorlie pairing in Bob Wakefield and Peter Walker rounding out the podium.

Perfect weather for speedway greeted competitors with eleven pairings taking part in the 7th running of the Street Stock 20/20 Challenge, which this year was supported by the Bay of Isles Furniture & The Jetty Resort.

All eleven cars took part in the main event with Dean Shore leading the first twenty laps in a fairly uneventful opening period of the race with the only major incident occurring when Sean Barrett and Wade Rigney had a heavy coming together with both cars heading to the infield.

Jack Barnewall led the field away for the final twenty laps, with Hamish Macalpine applying pressure to Barnewall straight away.

Barnewall & Macalpine would race side by side for a number of laps before Macalpine took the lead.

With nine laps remaining Barnewall found a way back past the Macalpine Holden Commodore with the duo putting on a great display of Street Stock racing.

Zane Humphrys by that stage had worked his way into third place before making heavy contact with the front straight wall ending his race.

Macalpine would be relegated two positions under the yellow light stoppage with Macalpine then having a great battle with Bob Wakefield, Linton Dickerson and Cody Avins for the minor placings.

With four laps to go Macalpine and Avins came together with the Collie driver then sent rear of the field for the final restart.

Barnewall led the final laps of the event to become a five time winner of the 20/20 Street Stock Challenge with his partner Dean Shore winning it for the third time.

Macalpine stormed home around the outside of the other cars chasing Barnewall to line to finish second with Bob Wakefield holding on to third place.

Josh Macalpine dominated the Production Sedan racing on the night winning every event for the class with Hayden Mortimer doing similar in the Junior Sedans.

Plans are already underway for the 8th Annual Street Stock 20/20 to be held in early December 2019.

Official Result

20/20 Feature Race: 1.W16 Jack Barnewall/Dean Shore, 2. W00 Hamish Macalpine/Josh Macalpine, 3. W38 Bob Wakefield/Peter Walker, 4. W83 Linton Dickerson/Jeff Dickerson, 5. W11 Cody Avins/Jake Avins, 6. W71 Tanya Kemp/Lance McGregor, DNF W31 Tristan Stroet/Brenton Bridges, W39 Zane Humphrys/Kody Kelman, W4 Dylan Williams/Ben Strautins W14 Wade Rigney/Greg Fisher ,W9 Sean Barrett/Todd Barrett


Subscribe to Speedway Sedan Digest

Never Miss An Article


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.