Late Models

Darren Kane The New National Late Model Champion

Darren Kane has won the Australian Late Model Championship for the second time with a brilliant drive in the fourty lap main event coming from position twelve to take the lead late in the race.

Western Australian Craig Vosbergen lead for the majority of the race and seem to be in total control despite numerous stoppages bringing him back to the field.

Paul Stubber was out after one lap with rear end issues with his W31 entry forcing him to retire with the battle for the minor placings absolutely epic throughout the fourty lap decider.

Kane worked his way through the field and was challenging for the second behind New South Welshman David Doherty with Ryan Alexander, Clayton Pyne and Kye Blight all contending for the minor placings.

David Doherty spun with six laps remaining with the stewards deeming him to be the cause of the stoppage.

A stoppage with five laps remaining for the spun Cameron Pearson put Darren Kane right on Vosbergen’s tail for the sprint to the finish with Kane taking the lead with a brilliant outside pass.

The leader drove away from the field but with two laps remaining the yellow lights would be on again for the reigning national champion Callum Harper who hit the wall while running in seventh place after starting well back in the field.

Darren Kane survived the last two laps defeating Vosbergen with Ryan Alexander narrowly holding on to third from Blight and Pyne.

Ryan Alexander

The 2019 Australian Late Model Championship will be held at the Valvoline Raceway in Sydney New South Wales.

All the video highlights from this years title can be found at

Official Result

A Main- Fourty Laps: 1 Q36 Darren Kane, 2. W8 Craig Vosbergen, 3. S36 Ryan Alexander, 4. W41 Kye Blight, 5. N9 Clayton Pyne, 6. N99 Ben Nicastri, 7. W52 Jay Cardy, 8. W0 Brad Blake, 9. V10 Cameron Pearson, 10. W91 Michael Holmes, 11. N12 Daryl Grimson, 12. N25 David Doherty, 13. N91 Dean Hickey, 14. Q35 Carter Armstrong, 15. W19 Simon McNab, 16. N41 Tim Bink, DNF A1 Callum Harper, 14R Jeff Roth, N29 Ryan Fenech, W31 Paul Stubber



Subscribe to Speedway Sedan Digest

Never Miss An Article


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.