Street Stocks

Hamon Dominates While Genev Takes Title

Article Courtesy of Speedway Sedans Australia, Photos by Aidan Skraha

The Thomsons Auto Parts, Collie Street Stock Championship, had more twists and turns that you could poke a stick at on Friday night, at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway, with Ethan Genev winning the biggest race of his career.

The thirty lap A Main would see Michael Hamon and Paul Briggs start on the front row, with Hamon immediately taking the lead.

A lap into the race, Luke Fraser spun in turn two, with Hayden Norman deemed the cause and was subsequently sent to the rear of the field. Norman would not go to the rear of the field, so he was disqualified, after just one lap.

On the restart, Hamon would continue to not only lead but drive away from the opposition. Cody Avins would move to second and would be in a great battle with Paul Briggs and Wayne Thomson, before Briggs succumbed and moved to the infield after eight laps.

Meanwhile Hamon simply got further and further in front of the opposition, as he totally dominated the race.

On lap fifteen Cody Avins slipped from second to fifth as the chasing pack all fought for second place. Ethan Genev moved to second after battling his way through the field, with Wayne Thomson and Luke Fraser third and fourth respectively.

With nine laps remaining, and with Hamon more than ten seconds ahead of Genev, it appeared a for-gone conclusion that Hamon would win his fourth Feature event of the season, and win the Collie Championship. What was not factored in was Marty Kelly spinning in turn one, with Hamon slamming into the side of the stricken race car.

The large crowd witnessed in disbelief as Hamon was eliminated from the race, leaving Ethan Genev in front. After a battle with nine times Collie Champion, Wayne Thomson, Genev got the upper hand to record a highly popular win, defeating Thomson and Damien Amato, who again proved highly consistent in big events. Cody Avins and David Fall would be the only other drivers on the lead lap, while Jeremy Ferris would be the sixth and final driver on track, after thirty gruelling laps.

Feature Race, 30 laps: 1. W7 Mick Hamon, 2. W12 Paul Briggs, 3. W31 Cody Avins, 4. W15 Wayne Thomson, 5. W3 Luke Fraser, 6. W4 Ethan Genev, 7. W66 Hayden Norman, 8. W10 David Fall, 9. W81 Damien Amato, 10. W9 Marty Kelly, 11. W44 Brodie Dunn, 12. W77 Dan Sutton, 13. W17 Phil Lycholit, 14. W24 Tim Matthews, 15. W89 Carl Pickersgill, 16. W37 Jeremy Ferris.

1. W4 Ethan Genev, 2. W15 Wayne Thomson, 3. W81 Damien Amato, 4. W31 Cody Avins, 5. W10 David Fall, 6. W37 Jeremy Ferris (29). DNF: W17 Phil Lycholit (26), W9 Marty Kelly (26), W3 Luke Fraser (23), W7 Mick Hamon (21), W12 Paul Briggs (8), W77 Daniel Sutton (7), W24 Tim Matthews (4), W89 Carl Pickersgill (1). DQ: W44 Brodie Dunn (29), W66 Hayden Norman (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.860. Fastest Lap: 20.950 W7 Mick Hamon.

Event Posters

  • WAMDASeasonCalendar2017.jpg
  • calendar.jpg
  • csccalendar.jpg


Subscribe to Speedway Sedan Digest

Never Miss An Article


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.