Junior Sedans

Malcolm Charges to Tom Green Memorial Win

Article by DTN Media

After a very ordinary start to the day, Luke Malcolm has charged his way through the field of Top Star Junior Sedans to record the win for the annual Tom Green Memorial at Ellenbrook Speedway.

Malcolm recorded an eleventh, a DNF and a tenth in his three heats to start the twenty lap feature event from position thirteen, while the front row was shared by Blake Webb and Bradley Short.

As the race went green it was Webb who got the jump and led Short and Brooke Sutton away, with Short going wide on the second lap and allowing Sutton to scoot through.

Behind the leading three cars was a great battle for fourth between Bronty Fraser, Alex Swift and Ethan Cooper, the trio going three wide on a number of occasions before Luke Malcolm came from the clouds and joined the battle.

By lap three Malcolm had moved through into fourth, then fourth a lap later before he also chased down Short and grabbed third.

Ahead of them, Sutton was closing the gap on Webb, just 0.333 seconds behind Webb on lap seven and then 0.211 behind the following lap, while at the same time Malcolm would set the fastest lap of the race to that point.

Malcolm moved outside Sutton for second but Sutton was able to hold on temporarily, before Malcolm again tried the move coming out of turn two, this time able to stick it for the pass.

With nine laps remaining Malcolm had closed the gap on Webb and looked inside him for the lead, but it wasn’t until a lap later when Malcolm made the race winning move, going underneath Webb on the back straight to take over the point.

With only a handful of laps remaining Sutton, who was in third, slowed and headed infield as the first retiree of the race, handing third back to Bradley Short, while two laps later Blake Iwanow’s horror run came to an end with a flat tyre on lap sixteen after earlier replacing a head gasket. Lachlan Dellar would become the final retiree of the race when he headed infield on lap seventeen.

Back up front though it was all Malcolm as he raced away to grab the win by over 1.8 seconds from Webb and Short in what was a strong performance. In the process Malcolm was also awarded the Demon Racecar Fibreglass Hard Charger prize, having passed twelve cars.

Official Result – 20 laps: 1. W23 Luke Malcolm, 2. W108 Blake Webb, 3. W19 Bradley Short, 4. W83 Corey Ameduri, 5. W31 Ethan Cooper, 6. W7 Alex Swift, 7. W20 Bronty Fraser, 8. W15 Izak Davies, 9. W67 Nikita Donohoe, 10. W49 Bianca Kennedy (19), 11. W47 Rohan Thomas (19), 12. W22 Jesse Steele (19). DNF: W195 Lachlan Dellar (17), W24 Blake Iwanow (16), W57 Brooke Sutton (14). Total Time: 8.10.657. Winning Margin: 1.808. Fastest Lap: 24.079 W23 Luke Malcolm.


Subscribe to Speedway Sedan Digest

Never Miss An Article


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.