Modified Sedans

Noakes Claims the Classic

Article by Morgan Melvin, Photo by SWB Photography

Clint Noakes put on a dominating performance from pole position to lead all 25 laps to win the South Coast Classic ahead of Rick Musarra and Matt Noakes at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway.

Although he wasn’t the highest point scorer throughout the six preliminary heat races, he was able to defeat all his foes ahead of him in the pole shootout where he worked his way from sixth to start off the pole alongside Musarra.

Thirteen cars would start the feature race with Sean Theyer and Adam Houston unable to start after a nasty accident in their final heat race while Miranda Ball, Allan Mortimer and Aydan Trewern did not make it out of their first heat races.

The feature race started at a frantic pace with Noakes leading Musarra and Bill Penn. Kim Williams would be the first retiree on lap eight while just one lap later newly crowned Western Australian Champion Anthony King would suffer mechanical dramas and pull onto the infield.

Disaster struck with eleven laps to go when Penn spun while fighting for second place, with Ray Clifton and Paul Stevens having no where to go and collected Penn with Clifton unable to restart with significant damage to his falcon.

Paul Stevens would be disqualified during the red light stoppage leaving just six cars for the restart.

This would elevate Matt Noakes to the third position on the restart, who was no in a good battle with Mick Johnson and Blake Jackson with Jackson able to slide past Johnson on lap sixteen to take over fourth place.

The race belong to Clint Noakes, who was able to cruise away to the race victory. Clint now with brother Matt, Allan Mortimer and Mick Johnson will turn their attention to Horsham for the Australian Modified Sedans National Championship on the Easter Long Weekend.

Locally the Modified Sedans will be back in action at the Moora Speedway on Saturday 21st April 2018 for Round Four of the GWN7 WA Modified Sedan Series.

Official Result of the 2018 South Coast Classic

Twenty Five Laps-1. W23 Clint Noakes, 2. W21 Rick Musarra, 3. W20 Matt Noakes, 4. W41 Blake Jackson, 5. W32 Mick Johnson, 6. W2 Peter Fraser, 7. W8 Calon Ball (15), 8. W57 Bill Penn (14), 9. W73 Ray Clifton (14), 10. W47 Shane Dubberlin (13), 11. W1 Anthony King (9), 12. W33 Kim Williams (8), DNS: W4 Miranda Ball, W11 Sean Theyer, W12 Aydan Trewern, W18 Adam Houston, W74 Allan Mortimer, DISQ: W6 Paul Stevens



Subscribe to Speedway Sedan Digest

Never Miss An Article


Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.